Solarium Montréal’s structural skylights are installed exclusively on flat roofs.  Designed for vast spaces, they are ideal for diffusing natural light to a store, a clinic, a residence, etc. In the images, follow the development of this glazed space and note the importance of painstaking professional installation, to avoid deflection of the roof if the skylight weight estimate is incorrect. 
LOCATION
Once you have decided on the location, a feasibility study will follow. First it will deal with the path water will follow to the drain. Next comes the inspection of the support points.  It is essential that support beams concealed in the roof space rest on the retaining wall to pick up and support the skylight’s weight. No matter what the reason, if this hypothesis cannot be adopted, the second choice is to install vertical supports from the ground up (see Illustration 1). These columns can become a particularly decorative element.
CURB
The next step is to build a curb of 2” x 6” wood pieces. This wall will be at least 6 inches high. The greater the elevation of the curb, the lower the risk of overflow in extreme weather. Generally and ideally, the height of the curb is determined by the height of the parapet.
 
       
MEMBRANE
After this frame is constructed, an elastomer membrane must be installed and welded to the existing structure. This operation will be performed by a licensed roofer designated by the customer. This membrane will cover the outer part and the top of the curb completely. This makes water infiltration almost impossible.
SKYLIGHT
Over the years, Solarium Montréal has executed an impressive number of skylights. Several models are available. The skylight can be pyramidal, octagonal, two-sided or four-sided. Some formats may require a substructure as additional reinforcement. Illustration opposite: four-sided skylight.
       

       
Home page | Solarium : 4 Seasons glazing | Solarium : 3 Seasons Plus glazing | Solarium : 3 Seasons glazing | Solarium : Sunroom window | Solarium : SkylightSolarium : Commercial
Related work: Foundation | Related work: 4 Seasons carpentry | Related work: 3 Seasons Plus carpentry | Related work: 3 Seasons carpentry
Related work: Sunroom windows carpentry | Related work: Skylight carpentry | Related work: Substructure |
Achievements | Showroom Our team | Our factory | Our services | Request for brochure | New features | FAQ |

Structuraux, les puits de lumière de Solarium Montréal sont installés exclusivement sur des toits plats.  Conçus pour de vastes espaces, ils sont tout indiqués pour diffuser une luminosité naturelle, à un commerce, à une clinique, à une résidence, etc…  Suivez en image, la réalisation de cet espace vitré et constatez l’importance d’une installation soignée et professionnelle, afin d’éviter une déflection du toit, si l’estimation pondérale du puits de lumière est incorrecte.   
LOCALISATION
Le choix de l’emplacement convenu, suivra une étude de faisabilité.  Cette dernière portera premièrement, sur la trajectoire qu’emprunte l’eau pour se rendre au drain d’évacuation.  En deuxième lieu, vient la vérification des points d’appui.  Il est essentiel que des poutres de support, dissimulées dans l’entre toit, soient appuyées sur les murs de soutien, pour prendre et supporter le poids du puits de lumière.  Peu importe la raison, si cette hypothèse ne peut être retenue, le second choix, c’est l’installation de supports verticaux depuis le sol (voir illustration 1).  Ces colonnes peuvent devenir un élément particulièrement décoratif.
MURET
L’étape suivante consiste à bâtir un muret en pièces de bois de 2¨ x 6¨.  La hauteur de ce dernier sera de 6 pouces minimum.  Plus on donne d’élévation au muret moins le risque de débordement est grand, lors de températures extrêmes.  Généralement et idéalement, la hauteur du muret est déterminée par celle du parapet. 
 
       
MEMBRANE
Suite à ce bâti, une membrane d’élastomère doit être installée et soudée à l’existante.  Cette opération sera assurée par un couvreur licencié et désigné par le client.  Cette membrane couvrira entièrement la partie extérieure et le dessus du muret.  Par cette pratique, il est presque impossible de déplorer des infiltrations d’eau.
LE PUITS DE LUMIÈRE
Au fil des ans, Solarium Montréal a exécuté un nombre impressionnant de puits de lumière.      
Plusieurs modèles sont disponibles.  Le puits de lumière peut se présenter sous la forme pyramidale, octogonale, à deux ou quatre versants.  Certains formats peuvent exiger une sous structure en matière de renforcement supplémentaire.  Illustration ci-contre, puits de lumière à quatre versants.   
       

       
accueil | résidentiel: 4 saisons | résidentiel: 3 saisons + | résidentiel: 3 saisons | résidentiel: fenêtres serres | résidentiel: puîts de lumière
| commercial | travaux connexes: fondation | travaux connexes: menuiserie 4 saisons | travaux connexes: menuiserie 3 saisons + | travaux connexes: menuiserie 3 saisons
travaux connexes: menuiserie fenêtres-serre | travaux connexes: menuiserie puits de lumière | travaux connexes: sous structure | réalisations | salle de montre
notre équipe | notre usine | nos services | demande de brochure | nouveautés | foire aux questions | coordonnées